Are you visiting Normandy next week for the 70th D-Day anniversary?

Are you visiting Normandy for the 70th D-Day anniversary?

I’m only days away from my visit to Normandy for the 70th D-Day anniversary and I could not be more excited to be back in such a beautiful place! It’s difficult to imagine when looking across the stunning, seemingly endless, rapeseed-filled fields that 70 years ago this was the battlefield for all of Europe. Image

When the tide of German troops flooded France on the 10th May 1940, the French were both shocked and confused by the speed and scale of their defeat. Life in France only hardened after Marshal Pétain launched the “National Revolution” which would, in his opinion, enable the “moral and intellectual recovery of France”. Life in occupied France meant heavy restrictions, daily shortages and economic pillaging for French civilians. The number of Resistance workers fighting against the occupying forces increased in the run up to D-Day despite Vichy and German officials continuing to hunt them down and punish those who rebelled or protected Jewish citizens.

Image

When I visited the Mémorial de Caen last year I learnt a great deal about what the French people had to endure during the Second World War and what was arguably, France’s darkest period in history. I feel very privileged to have the opportunity to return to Normandy next week to commemorate the D-Day Landings and meet these courageous French civilians who lived through the occupation.

7 thoughts on “Are you visiting Normandy next week for the 70th D-Day anniversary?”

  1. My husband’s Dad Colin Kemp left New Plynouth New Zealand yesterday with NZ Defence force veterans all of whom in their 90s to be at Normandy on D day. He left NZ & joined British Navy as radio/signals & was on the Empire Rose during the Pacific air,sea battles. Enjoy your trip. Take care Anne . Facebook page. Anne Christine Chamberlain

  2. Me and my Gran are going over on Tuesday with the Birmingham branch of Normandy veterans . We sadly lost my grandad nearly two years ago, who landed on juno beach on d-day. I am happy and honored to be going on his behalf and proud to be wearing his medals for him.

    1. Hi Adele, I’m sure you’re very much looking forward to your trip on Tuesday and thank you for sharing! Let me know if you’d be interested in meeting to talk a little about your late Grandfather while your in Normandy. Thanks, Annie

    2. Hi Adele
      I recordered the tv program of the vets D -Day remembrance and saw you saying you were proud and honoured to be wearing your grand-dad’s medals. i was very touched and I want you to know that I am proud of you as a fellow Briton for feeling like that. We owe so much to your grand-dad and those like him.
      thankyou.
      Roy Earnshaw (age 72)

      1. Thank you Mr earnshore, I am so very proud of what my grandad and his fellow veterans did for us and our country to. it was a very emotional visit. Back to Normandy, thqnk you very much for you reply. Adele.

      2. Thank you Mr earnshaw, I am so very proud of what my grandad and his fellow veterans did for us and our country to. it was a very emotional visit. Back to Normandy, thank you very much for you reply. Adele.

Leave a Reply

