Breakfast at La Mare Ô Poissons, Ouistreham in Normandy

So what are my first impressions of Normandy?

Maybe it’s the delicious Camembert cheese Kate has insisted I try. Maybe the seemingly-endless fields of sun-stained yellow rapeseed. Or the warm summer weather.

In actual fact, my first thought upon arriving in Normandy is “thank heavens I’m not driving!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not an experienced driver. I haven’t driven since moving to London two years ago. Fortunately – well, for me at least! – Kate is my designated driver for the week. She’s been trying to explain to me the laws of the land, specifically laws that involve stop signs and the importance of giving way to the right. It’s only confusing me more and the fact that our rental car’s sat nav is impossible to use doesn’t help the tension!

Upon our arrival, our first point of call in Normandy after picking up the rental car from Europcar was a delightful hotel 10 minutes from the port in Ouistreham. La Mare Ô Poissons is a quaint hotel ideally situated near the coast.

Most cafés and restaurants are obviously closed at 6:30am because nobody in their right mind is awake that early and so this hotel couldn’t have been a better pick for our breakfast. The fresh buffet boasted a variety of cereals, fruits, croissants and jams. After guzzling down several crêpes and mugs of coffee we only had a few hours to spare before our morning visit to the Mémorial Pegasus in Ranville.


Follow me on Twitter @AnnieCDarling and use the hashtag #anniesddayblog to share your thoughts, images and videos with me!

One thought on “Breakfast at La Mare Ô Poissons, Ouistreham in Normandy”

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted
    to say superb blog!

Leave a Reply

